PowerPoint’s dark side…

I like PowerPoint. It’s fun, fast, easy, and can be used to appeal to visual learners and to reinforce teaching points. I especially like using it for case studies, because I can animate maps of troop movements and defensive positions, show photographs of the main characters, sometimes maybe interject a little humor. Visual learners like visual aids. I don’t have a problem with that, it works.

But PowerPoint can be abused, just like any other good thing. In the hands of an inexperienced or lazy instructor, the slide show becomes a crutch. If I ever, again, in my lifetime, have to sit through another “class” that amounts to “good afternoon students my name is joe instructor and this is my powerpoint and now i am going to read my powerpoint to you while you read my powerpoint to yourselves and follow along in your student guide which my powerpoint reiterates and regurgitates – click” I may possibly become violent. And I am not normally a violent woman.

Somehow I don’t remember ever having this problem back when we all just had chalkboards. Maybe I’m seeing the good ol’ days through rose-colored bifocals, I guess a boring teacher could be boring no matter what visual aids they used, huh?

Leave a Reply

