Knit, pray, love

Sometimes I get stuck on the “macro” of life, and I need something to bring me back to a micro level. Lately I’ve been impatient. Show of hands – who here is surprised by that? Anyone? Bueller?

I’ve been feeling a little like my life is set permantly on wait mode. I don’t go back to Haiti until March. It’s going to take at least three years maybe longer to finish my doctorate’s. The Help Heal Haiti island cruise can’t be scheduled until sometime in the spring, probably April. And it feels like everything needs to happen NOW. Right now. This instant.

It doesn’t help that every time there is a problem or crisis of any sort I become almost obsessive about my social media habit, checking FB and Twitter every five minutes or more for updates. The most recent, of course, is the cholera outbreak – but there have been plenty of others. So lately it seems that all I do is check for updates and pray. All the time. I know – “all” I do is pray – like that’s a bad or little thing. It isn’t, of course. And I know that re-tweeting and re-posting urgent prayer and practical needs, talking about it all the time (I’m tedious at parties), and praying without ceasing DOES count as “doing something.” I know that. But sometimes it doesn’t really feel like I’m doing much. Just sitting and waiting for it to be my time to go. Like MEPS, only in months and years instead of hours.

The problems that tug at my heart tend to be monumental, affecting an entire country. A crisis of education and illiteracy touching millions of lives is not a crisis that I can turn my back on. God won’t let me, not if I want to sleep at night. But sometimes it is good for me to pull back a little and focus on something a little smaller, something that I can take action on now. This instant. A little bit of micro-action to put a reality check on my macro-plans.

Thank God for Brant Hansen, my favorite morning radio DJ.

http://cure.org/knit-pray-love/

So I’m making a baby blanket, for an infant in Afghanistan whose name I will never know and whose face I will never see. This is something individual, personal, and manageable that I can focus on while I’m in “wait” mode for the so-called big stuff. This child, whoever he or she is, is every bit as critical as the thousands of schoolchildren in Haiti I feel called to help educate. But this child is NOW. I can do something This Instant. While I am working on this blanket, my attention is on one child, not thousands. One baby who needs prayer – for a childhood marked by peace and not war, for the protection of angels, for a knowledge of the Creator and a thirst to seek more, for education and a future and a hope.

Thanks, Brant. I needed that.

Of course, sometimes what I need even more is a God-sized Gibbs slap on the back of my head. He arranged for that last night. I was on my way to CR, and I picked up a Recovery bible off the table saw (yeah, I store my bibles on my power tools, want to make something of it? 😉 This particular bible was one I hadn’t carried to church in a while, as my study bible is easier to take notes in. But I wanted to take it last night in case my friend T was there – she wants to order one, so I was going to let her look at mine to make sure it is what she wants.

Well, I had on-ramps (bulletins/announcements/study guides, for the non-Intersection readers) stuck in various passages, so I went to clean it out a little. And when I pulled an on-ramp out of one particular page, the bible LITERALLY fell open in my hand. Coincidence? I think not. The passage was Acts 11:25-26. I know that either Charlie or Steve preached on it in early July, because I led a devotion on this passage last time I was at the Baie and it was fresh in my mind. For the devotion, I focused on the part that says “The disciples were first called Christians at Antioch.” But when I heard the sermon, I took notes – in my RECOVERY BIBLE that I hadn’t opened since – on a different aspect of the passage.

See, the Word doesn’t really say what Saul was doing during the at least 5 years from the time he returned to Tarsus until Barnabus went there and found him to teach at Antioch. The sermon we heard on the passage pointed out, though, that he must have spent a great deal of that time studying, praying, and preparing for his great missionary journeys, because the note I took in the margin was “when God called Saul, he was ready.”

He was ready. When his time came, he was prepared to do the work. Not by accident, but by careful study and intentional prayer. And waiting on the Lord’s timing.

My theatrical dance teacher used to say, whenever a phone rang during class, “if that’s Broadway callin’, you ain’t ready.” Ow. God-sized Gibbs slaps HURT. But I needed that.

I will, at some point in the future, devote a great deal of time and effort to making sure that every child in the Northwest peninsula receives an education that equips them for gainful and productive employment to secure the future of their country and further the Kingdom. I will. But my time is not yet. In the meantime, I will knit, and pray, and love. Actually I will crochet, I’m a terrible knitter. And I will study. When I am called, I will be ready.

1 Comment

  1. George said,

    October 23, 2010 at 9:19 am

    “Be still, and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10).

    This command — “be still” — forces us to think on two things: that we are finite, and that God is infinite. That being the case, we need to drop our hands, go limp, relax, and “chill out.” Christian people ought to “come, behold the works of Jehovah,” (v. 8) that we may enjoy a calm confidence in him who gave us his Son.


Leave a Reply

